Mummification Steps!

What are the 8 steps of mummification process? 🇪🇬🇪🇬

1. Purify the body

Before the embalming process can begin, the body is washed in water from the Nile and palm wine.

2. Remove the internal organs

A small incision is made in the left side of the body and the liver, lungs, intestines and stomach are removed. They are then washed and packed in natron before being placed in canopic jars.

The heart is left in the body as it is believed to be the center of intelligence, and will be needed in the afterlife.

3. Discard the brain

A rod is inserted through the nostril into the skull and used to break apart the brain so that it can drain out of the nose.

The liquid is then thrown away as it is not thought to be useful.

4. Leave to dry

The body is stuffed and covered with natron, a type of salt, which will absorb any moisture. It is then left for 40 days to dry out.

5. Stuff the body

Once again, it is washed in water from the Nile and covered with oils to help the skin stay elastic.

The natron is scooped out and the body is then stuffed with sawdust and linen to make it look lifelike.

6. Wrap in linen

First, the head and neck are wrapped in strips of linen, then the fingers and toes.

The arms and legs are wrapped separately before being tied together. Liquid resin is used as glue.

7. Add amulets

Charms called amulets are placed in between the layers to protect the body during its journey to the afterlife.

8. Say a prayer

A priest reads spells out loud while the body is being wrapped in order to ward off evil spirits.

He will often wear a mask of Anubis – the god associated with the embalming process and the afterlife.

If you are reading these lines now, it means that you have completed the reading, Leave your impression in a comment. 📖❤️🇪🇬

7,907 thoughts on “Mummification Steps!”

  1. But why preserve the body? The Egyptians believed that the mummified body was the home for this soul or spirit. If the body was destroyed, the spirit might be lost. The idea of “spirit” was complex involving really three spirits: the ka, ba, and akh. The ka, a “double” of the person, would remain in the tomb and needed the offerings and objects there. The ba, or “soul”, was free to fly out of the tomb and return to it. And it was the akh, perhaps translated as “spirit”, which had to travel through the Underworld to the Final Judgment and entrance to the Afterlife. To the Egyptian, all three were essential.